Monday, March 05, 2007

March 23rd Deadline for Submissions for Emerging Visions Award

The competition is co-sponsored by the Chicago Architectural Club and Knoll International.

"The urban environment is constantly evolving and new visions are continuously emerging. This competition seeks to provide a forum for young designers to share their visions, inventions, and ideas. One submission per entrant. Submissions may be built, unbuilt, or theoretical." Awards will be presented March 29th in the Knoll showroom at the Merchandise Mart. "Entrants must live or work in the Chicagoland area." More information on the rules for the competition, and instructions for submissions, can be found here.

The awards have proven a good predicator of major emerging talent. Past winners include current CAC co-president Michael Wilkinson in 1998, Jeanne Gang and Mark Schendel of Studio/Gang in 2000, UrbanLab's Sarah Dunn and Martin Felsen in 2003, and, in the last 2005 competition, Tristan d'Estree Sterk.


Anonymous said...

Dunn is spelled wrong.

Lynn Becker said...

Not anymore, it isn't. Thanks.